I’m getting nervous, and it’s driving me batty

Tomorrow I go see my orthopedic surgeon to schedule a date and time for my arthroscopic surgery. I know it’s the right thing to do. I know that it is the best, least invasive way to correct the problem, but the very idea of surgery scares me. I am very much a control freak, and the thought of being unconscious while someone is poking around anywhere inside my body just makes me feel so weird.

I’m fortunate that I’ve managed to get this far in life without any major injuries. A badly sprained ankle is about the worst physical malady I’ve ever had to deal with before now. I don’t even count the left knee pain anymore, since it’s been with me since I was 12. I can’t imagine what it would feel like to wake up one day and not be in pain.

Wish me luck tomorrow that I can get a surgery date very soon, so I can get this over with and resume trying to get back to “normal.”

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Julio
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 23:59:38

    Good luck!!

    Reply

Share your thoughts

