Women should have curves

I’m so tired of magazines and television shows and advertisements everywhere that show these super skinny, unrealistic looking models. I’m “healthy.” If you were going to lump me on one of the various scales that are used to measure weight ratios, I’m somewhere between the high range of healthy & the low range of overweight.

That’s ridiculously stupid. I’m 5’5″ tall and weigh 145 pounds right now. I will admit that I’m carrying about 20 pounds more than normal because of my knee injury and not being able to exercise. I still fit into a size 4 pair of jeans. How is that even remotely considered overweight?

I am so thankful that I don’t have a daughter that I would have to explain body image to. I know that I have a touch of body dismorphia. I think I look fatter than I actually am. It must not be that bad though, because the man in my life thinks I look just fine.

I will never again have a 22″waist like I had in high school, and I will never have a thigh gap, but I like having curves because it’s a touch of femininity in a woman who generally is more of a tomboy and prefers hanging out with the guys.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara Ribling
    May 03, 2014 @ 23:10:59

    I am also 5’5″ but I now weigh a great deal more than you but I am also much older. When I was in High School I was 5’5″, weighed 115 and wore size 14. I had bruises on my arms where they rubbed against my hips but scarcely a week passed that someone didn’t called my “Fat” or the equivalent. My Mother never passed up an opportunity to let me know I was too fat while baking cakes for me (which I was not supposed to eat). I got so tired of the struggle to be thin and thus be beautiful that I gave up. I have gained weight ever since. I occasionally have dieted but in the end I always gained the loss back plus extra. At age 40 I gave up dieting. I still gained but not nearly as much as I did while dieting. I am now resigned to being fat and unhappy about it. If I knew then what I know now, I would never have gone on a diet and I suspect I would be at least 40 pounds thinner than I am now. People often said to me, “You have such a pretty face if only you could lose a few pounds…” Grrr!

    Reply

Share your thoughts

